Gardening During COVID – 19

Throughout the COVID -19 pandemic, Easy Care Gardening continues to provide the gardening service, but with guidelines in place for the health and safety of both our volunteers and our clients.

As an Aged Care Provider, Easy Care Gardening is an essential service. This means that our paid staff and volunteers are considered to be authorised workers. We have confirmed this with both the State and Federal Governments.  This means that you are exempt from the 5km rule when you are performing your role as an ECG volunteer.

NOTE: If you require more masks, a letter of essential employment, or an incident report, please contact your Coordinator or the Volunteer Manager.

ECG: Volunteers who live in any of these suburbs in addition to the Liverpool, Canterbury/Bankstown,Campbelltown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool and Parramatta, do not garden with us at this time. New areas in Burwood and Bayside have also been declared.

·         Baulkham Hills

·         Beecroft  (Excludes Beecroft from Hornsby Shire)

·         Camellia

·         Carlingford

·         Cheltenham (Excludes Cheltenham from Hornsby Shire)

·         Clyde

·         Constitution Hill

·         Dundas

·         Dundas Valley

·         Eastwood

·         Epping

·         Ermington

·         Granville (see also Cumberland local government area)

·         Harris Park

·         Holroyd (see also Cumberland local government area)

·         Lidcombe (see also Cumberland local government area)

·         Mays Hill (see also Cumberland local government area)

·         Melrose Park

·         Newington

·         North Parramatta

·         North Rocks

·         Northmead

·         Oatlands

·         Old Toongabbie

·         Parramatta

·         Pendle Hill (see also Cumberland local government area)

·         Rosehill

·         Rydalmere

·         Silverwater

·         Sydney Olympic Park

·         Telopea

·         Toongabbie (see also Blacktown and Cumberland local government areas)

·         Wentworth Point

·         Wentworthville (see also Cumberland local government area)

·         Westmead (see also Cumberland local government area)

·         Winston Hills

These new areas are also now affected:

Bayside local government area

•             Banksia

•             Bexley

•             Botany

•             Brighton-Le-Sands

•             Kogarah

•             Mascot

•             Rockdale

•             Sans Souci

Burwood local government area

For suburbs that are partly within the local government area boundary, refer to the  Service NSW Covid Map to confirm the restrictions that apply to a specific location.

•             Burwood

•             Burwood Heights

•             Croydon

•             Croydon Park

•             Enfield

•             Strathfield


The Commonwealth Department of Health expects all aged care services to continue for the duration of the lockdown where it is safe to do so.

For the purposes of the Commonwealth Home Support Programme (CHSP), essential services include:

▪ Meals (delivered to the home only);

▪ Transport (trips to essential medical appointments only);

▪ Domestic Assistance (general house cleaning, delivery of groceries and other essential shopping


▪ Nursing;

▪ Personal Care;

▪ Home Maintenance (e.g. gardening and repairs to ensure health, safety and security of the

premises or clients)

▪ Home Modifications (to ensure the health and safety of clients)

▪ Goods, Equipment and Assistive Technology (to ensure the health and safety of clients)

▪ Allied Health and Therapy Services (e.g. physiotherapy, podiatry, occupational therapy etc);

▪ Social Support (phone and online-based services only).”

The good news from the 27th September, 2021